Accessibility Awards: Nominate Someone Who Improves the Quality of Life for People With Disabilities

Do you know an individual, group or organization whose work or services improves access for Calgarians with disabilities? If so, we want to celebrate them and their accomplishments.

Accessibility Awards

Since 2009, we have been handing out the annual accessibility awards to recognize people who create an accessible and barrier-free city. Leanne Squair is the Issue Strategist that supports the Advisory Committee on Accessibility which sponsors the awards.

“Improving accessibility benefits everyone, especially as our population ages,” says Squair. “There are many people including businesses and organizations who are breaking down barriers for people with disabilities by raising awareness, using universal design, or applying innovative technology in our community. These awards recognize and celebrate Calgarians who are doing this important work.”

Nominations are open for the 2016 annual accessibility awards until Nov. 18. Submit a nomination for any of three categories:

The Advocacy Award

The Advocacy Award recognizes an individual or group of people who have improved the quality of life for people with disabilities.

Previous award recipients include Constable Christine Robinson (2013), Westside Recreation Centre (2014) and Accessible Housing’s RAD Renovations Program (2015).

The Access Recognition Award

The Access Recognition Award acknowledges how an individual or group, through universal design, has improved access for persons with disabilities in Calgary. This award covers improved physical access and/or technology or products.

Previous award recipients include Calgary Hard of Hearing Association (2013), Calgary Emergency Management Agency (2014) and the Fairmont Palliser Hotel (2015).

The Ella Anderson Accessible Transportation Award

The Accessible Transportation Award celebrates an individual or group whose work makes public transportation more inclusive in our community. This award was created in memory of Ella Anderson, who served on the Advisory Committee on Accessibility, and positive attitude and willingness helped to shape a more inclusive, customer-focused public transportation service.

Previous award recipients include Karim Rayani, manager of Calgary Transit Access (2013), Calgary Transit’s Travel Training Program (2014) and Jim Brown (2015), a long serving board member for Calgary Handi-bus.

The annual accessibility awards will be handed out in a public event close to the International Day of Persons with Disabilities in December. Stay tuned for more details.

To nominate an individual or organization for an award, and to learn about some of The City’s accessible services and programs, please visit

Original at